Song of The Day: Charlotte Gainsbourg – Le Chat Du Café Des Artistes

29Jan10

Charlotte Gainsbourg is one talented woman. I’ve always had a vague idea of who she was. But she demanded my full attention after absolutely killing it in Lars von Trier’s Antichrist. Since then, I’ve been on a mission to see as much of her work as possible. Sadly, I didn’t realize she was a musician until last Saturday.

It was then that brooklynvegan.com wrote about first live show ever (hit the link for pictures and their thoughts from the show, as well as the music video for Heaven Can Wait).  Apparently, her latest album, IRM, dropped in December and I completely missed it. Lucky for me, some kind soul decided to bless me with a copy this morning and I’ve been listening to it all day. Good but not great the first time through, IRM will grow on you with every listen. Her vocals coupled with the raw, unprocessed production work together to create a haunting and ethereal tone throughout the album.

The standout track is, without a doubt, Le Chat Du Café Des Artistes. It’s so sick, I had to listen to it twice and post it to my Tumblr immediately. With its impeccable use of strings and drum breaks, it’s only matter of time till someone samples it. I can already hear Ghostface going hard on a RZA remix of this. An incredibly addictive album, this will stay in the rotation for a long while.

Check it out.

French lyrics are below (if anyone wants to translate this for me, that would be fantastic):

Quand on est mort c’est qu’on est mort
Quand on ne rit plus c’est qu’on ne vit plus
Quand j’aurai coupé la ficelle
Mettez-moi dans une poubelle
Laissez-moi faisander un mois
Et de là jetez-moi au chat
Qu’il refuse ma rate et mon foie
Mais choissez l’heure pour qu’il me mange le cœur
Et je reste encore avec vous
Sur vos épaules et vos genoux
Que je sois puiqu’il faut qu’on existe
Le chat du café des artistes

Et si le pain vient à manquer
Je serai là et n’hésitez pas
Brisez-moi les pattes et le cou
Et puis mangez-moi à même le chat

Ce ne sera pas la première fois
Qu’on aura mangé un artiste

Quand on est mort c’est qu’on est mort
Quand on ne rit plus, c’est qu’on ne vit plus
Quand il a coupé la ficelle
On l’a mis dans une poubelle

Et puis ils m’ont oublié là
Là là là là là là là là
Comme ils ont oublié le chat
Comme ils oublieront ma tête et mes chansons

Ce ne sera pas la dernière fois
Que l’on oubliera un artiste

Quand on est mort c’est qu’on est mort
Quand on ne rit plus, c’est qu’on ne vit plus
Quand il a coupé la ficelle
On l’a mis dans une poubelle

Et puis ils m’ont oublié là
Là là là là là là là là x2

One Response to “Song of The Day: Charlotte Gainsbourg – Le Chat Du Café Des Artistes”

  1. 1 James

    Yeah, for me the stand out track (see below). I was looking for translations, found your posting the the english version below…. And that kinda sad as it’s not written by them, but overall the lp is still very strong….

    I’ve been listening to Brel / Gainsbourg for a long time, but recently have been stretching the boundaries thanks to the great http://fillessourires.blogspot.com/

    enjoy…..

    http://whiskeyclone.net/ghost/songinfo.php?songID=981

    When one is dead than one is dead
    When one no longer laughs, they no longer live
    When I will have cut the twine
    Put me in a garbage can
    Let me hang a month
    And from there throw me to the cat
    Who will refuse my spleen and my liver
    But choose the hour for him to eat my heart
    And I still stay with you
    On your shoulders and your knees
    Which I will be because it is necessary to exist
    The cat of the Cafe Des Artistes

    And if the bread goes missing
    I shall be there and do not hesitate
    To break my legs and neck
    And then eat me like the cat
    It will not be the first time
    That they will have eaten an artist

    When one is dead than one is dead
    When one no longer laughs, they no longer live
    When I will have cut the twine
    Put me in a garbage can
    And then they forgot me there
    There there there there there there there there
    As they forgot the cat
    As they will forget my head and my songs

    It will not be last time
    That they will forget an artist
    And then they forgot me there
    There there there there


Leave a Reply

